Riesentöter Forums
Data Acquisition - Printable Version

+- Riesentöter Forums (https://rtr-pca.org/forum)
+-- Forum: Club Activities (https://rtr-pca.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=24)
+--- Forum: Driver's Education (https://rtr-pca.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=29)
+--- Thread: Data Acquisition (/showthread.php?tid=2032)

- KennyB - 12-21-2009

Over the cold months I'm going to be looking for a DA set-up for next season.  A lot of stuff to go through.  If anyone has any advice/opinions re: the different products out there, I'm listening (reading the Forum).

Happy holidays to all

KB

- Bill Lehman - 12-22-2009

Ken, I suggest you go to the Rennlist forums and do a search.  There has been a lot of discussion there.  I shared a garage at the Glen with a fellow running an AiM system.  I'm no expert but was impressed with the data.  One bit was a brake pressure sensor.   http://www.aimsports.com/products/mxl-chooser.html

- George3 - 12-22-2009

Kenny,

I run the TraqMate in my Evo and had the AIM in the Diasio.  Some of "my" thoughts of each, are that the TraqMate is more user friendly and adaptable to integrate a video system (Chase-Cam), the installation is simple and can actually be transferred from car-to-car with relative ease at the track, and is my preferred DA of choice.

The AIM system, although very sophisticated, was not as user friendly, tech support in California was unclear on my questions, and the display is not bright enough in strong sunlight (IMHO).  The AIM does have the capability to add on as many sensors as you like, which to the serious racer is very important data, however, I'm not sure how important it is for the DE track enthusiast.

Understand, that the DA systems are all personal preference items and each driver will have his or her favorites.  Hope that helps a little.

- ninjabones - 12-23-2009

Ken: