Riesentöter Forums
How do you do this? - Printable Version

+- Riesentöter Forums (https://rtr-pca.org/forum)
+-- Forum: Club Activities (https://rtr-pca.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=24)
+--- Forum: Driver's Education (https://rtr-pca.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=29)
+--- Thread: How do you do this? (/showthread.php?tid=2552)

Pages: 1 2

- michael lang - 11-24-2010

Just a couple of weeks ago I went out for my last DE of the season with Potomac, and for some reason they had put me into the White Group eventhough they knew that I was a Blue Group student. I was told that they wanted to see how I would perform. I feel like I did a pretty good job and the instructors that rode with me were confirming that by saying that I was definitely in the correct run group based on my skill level. I was having some problems getting past some mental barriers with being so far out of my comfort zone trying to keep pace with the much faster drivers than myself that I would intermittently miss my various reference points on the track because I was driving faster than I was used to. As the weekend passed, my eyes had acclamated to the higher speed and my driving improved but I was still having some problems with it. Here's my question:

What types of things do you do while your  on track to slow things down in your mind so that your eyes will adjust to faster speeds than what you are used to?

- emayer - 11-24-2010

I think you're experiencing what most of us feel when transitioning from blue to white and a reasonable level of concern and caution is healthy.