Riesentöter Forums
Newbie - 2 or 3 Days? - Printable Version

+- Riesentöter Forums (https://rtr-pca.org/forum)
+-- Forum: Club Activities (https://rtr-pca.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=24)
+--- Forum: Driver's Education (https://rtr-pca.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=29)
+--- Thread: Newbie - 2 or 3 Days? (/showthread.php?tid=3268)

Pages: 1 2 3

- SomebodyDial911 - 07-01-2012

Hello, all. I'm new to PCA and am looking forward to getting involved in the group's driving activities. I recently participated in my first autocross and am considering signing up for the upcoming DE event at The Glen. Because this would be my first time out, I am wondering if I would be missing any vital elements of instruction by signing up for just two of the three days (necessitated by work schedule). Is it important that I don't miss any Friday class instruction for the Green group? Any insight?

Thanks in advance. I look forward to meeting you all in the coming months.

Daniel

- CarreraS - 07-02-2012

Daniel:

First...WELCOME!

Second, for my first couple of DE events I, too, only did the Saturday/Sunday sessions.  In retrospect, the mantra of DE is "seat time, seat time, seat time".  In order to improve and build upon your skill set, you can only achieve that by getting as many days on the track as is possible.  So, I would encourage you to do as many three-day events as your schedule allows.    

You'll be fine with Saturday/Sunday to start and you're joining a group who takes great pride in the level of instruction offered to students.

Good luck, have fun and be safe!

David

- Ben951 - 07-02-2012

Two days is fine. I just started this year and two days was a good way to start! I wouldn't use up vacation days or workplace good-will until you know you are thoroughly enjoying the time, and then you can plan it a bit better. Starting off at the Glen? Interesting... =)

- Phokaioglaukos - 07-02-2012

Ben951 wrote:
Quote:Starting off at the Glen? Interesting... =)